Robert Finley Awards

Robert Finley Awards

What are the Finley Awards?

The ITA Finley Award is made annually to what is judged to be the best theatrical production in that year by an amateur group in Western Australia. Originally there was one award — that of “Best Production” — later the award was altered to two categories, Best Play and Best Musical.

In recent years the awards have been expanded to include Best Actor and Actress and many other categories. The Award is made available by the Finley Trust Fund, established in 1975 by Miss Hetty Finley, in memory of her brother Robert, and is controlled by the Finley Trustees through the Perth Theatre Trust.

The current list of perpetual trophies that can be annually awarded by the ITA and its Adjudicators is available here.


Who decides what wins?

The Adjudication of the Awards is administered by the Independent Theatre Association on behalf of its member clubs. The panel of Adjudicators is chosen from people considered by the clubs, and after assessment by the ITA, to have appropriate experience in theatre.

Before being appointed a Finley Adjudicator each candidate must complete a training course at an acceptable level of competence as decided by the ITA Committee.

How do we enter?

Entry is open to all current members of the Independent Theatre Association. Once you are a member all you need to do is fill in the form and make the payment in time for our Adjudicators to come see your show.

Find a downloadable copy of the rules here – The Robert Finley Awards Rules and Regulations – Final


This is custom heading element